Weekly Photos – Forlorn Flower


This week was absurdly busy at work, to the point where I worried that between late nights and the rain I wouldn’t get a chance to take any interesting photos for the week, but luckily on Sunday it stopped raining and warmed up a bit so my wife and I were able to take a fun dog/photo walk to this little nature preserve by our house.

Recently I’ve seen a lot of activity in the Daily Posts weekly photo challenge and normally I don’t like participating in photography challenges.  I prefer to just take photos that I enjoy rather than thinking about a specific prompt while shooting, but I’ve seen a lot of people entering the minimalist challenge and thought the theme already fit well with what I tend to shoot.

When thinking about minimalism, I usually picture a blurred background with a single subject.  In the photo below, I used a technique related to depth of field.  It is a bit too advanced to cover in my learning photography posts so far, but those of you that read my post about aperture might remember that a longer focal length will have a shallower depth of field. However this is only true if the camera doesn’t move.  If you take two photos, one using a long focal length and the other using a short focal length, but move the camera so the same amount of subject is in the frame, both pictures will have the same depth of field.  The big difference is that the longer lens will appear to have a shallower depth of field because it has more background blur.  With a shallower angle of view there is less background in your image, which magnifies the blur while keeping your subject in focus.  With this in mind, I put on my telephoto lens and went searching for solitary subjects in the woods and found this forlorn flower.

DSC_0150_2

Photo Information

  • Date Taken: 11/09/2014 15:35:40 EST
  • Camera: NIKON D90
  • Camera NIKON CORPORATION
  • Exposure: 1/100 s at f/5.6
  • ISO: 800
  • Lens: 70.0-300.0 mm f/4.5-5.6
  • Focal Length: 300.0 mm
  • Flash: Did not fire
  • Exposure Program: Aperture priority
  • Metering Mode: Matrix

You can buy this photo here or browse through other photos in my gallery

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photos – Forlorn Flower

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photos – Mossy Road | petersouthlandphotography

Leave a Reply

