Review – Eye Fi Mobi SD Card


Today I’m going to be reviewing Eye Fi’s mobi SD card.  I thought it was about the right time to start adding reviews to the blog. I’ve covered most of the photography basics already, so I felt a week off of this topic wouldn’t be too bad.   I’ll be out-of-state for a friend’s wedding and wouldn’t have as much time as I would like to write a standard learning photography article.

Before I get started on the review, I want to note that I have no affiliation with Eye Fi and this review is purely because I like the product and want to tell people about it.  However if you are from Eye Fi and would like to send me new products to try and then review, please reach out.

Why Eye Fi Cards are Awesome

I’m sure a lot of you are familiar with this situation.  You’re on vacation or exploring new places, and you’ve taken some great pictures with your camera.  You want to share these views or sites with friends and family, but the only way to get photos off your camera is to plug it into your computer which is in your hotel room or possibly at home.  What do you wind up doing in this situation? Pulling out your phone, snapping the same picture you just took with your camera, and putting that on Facebook, Instagram, or whichever social media you prefer.

Enter the Wi Fi Card.  It’s an SD Camera card that can create its own WiFi signal.  This means that it can upload all of the photos from your camera to your phone or tablet as you’re shooting.  Now, if you take a great photo it’s already on your phone/tablet and you can upload it to social media or share with your family right away.

Image from the Eye Fi mobi website

Full Review

There are two versions of Eye Fi Cards.  The mobi version is designed specifically for uploading jpegs to mobile devices.  The Pro X2 version can upload RAW and jpeg images to a computer.

The Specific Eye Fi card I own is the mobi 8 Gig card.  I chose the mobi because my goal is sharing images easily with friends and family over social media when I’m on vacation.  It can be purchased in 8, 16, and 32 gig capacities.  I have 8 gig because I wanted to try out the cheapest option and see how well it worked before I committed to a more expensive card.

Setting up the Eye Fi card on an Apple or Android phone is incredibly simple.  Once you have the card in your camera, all you need to do is download the mobi app onto your phone.  Once the App is downloaded you open it up and select add card, enter the activation code that came with your card, then turn your camera on and start taking pictures.  Once the card connects the pictures will start downloading.

On android phones it’s possible to set up the card to store photos in the same directory that your phone camera uses.  This makes it so all the apps that post photos already know where to look.  You can also set up Dropbox to use this location, so your photos are synced across multiple devices.  I use this feature a lot, I can post photos to Instagram on my phone while I’m out and about and, when I get back to the hotel, use my tablets larger screen to post albums to Facebook or write blog posts.  I’m not super familiar with Apple, but I could not figure out how to recreate this setup on an iPad.  If any readers know how to do this, let me know, and I’ll add it into the article.

Let me know what you think of my first review.

Peter

 

4 thoughts on “Review – Eye Fi Mobi SD Card

  1. Love the SD cards anyways. I just want to know when it will be getting faster than now. It seems the SD Cards are slowing down the device while retrieving data. I may be wrong; but from my personal experience i thought it was there. Eye Fi Mobi does a lot better than others.

    Like

    • Standard SD cards have a numbered class which designates their write speed. The Mobi is a class 10 card which is the fastest non Ultra High Speed card type.

      I don’t know about any intrinsic slowdown that SD cards can cause with the camera, but if you’re shooting in burst mode and have a slower card in the camera, you can hit a lower sequential shot limit. This is because most cameras will have a storage buffer that pulls in the image sensor data very quickly. Once the data is in that buffer it will read out to the SD card. If you have a fast SD card the buffer will empty faster and it can appear like you have a larger buffer and you can take more pictures in a sequence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

