So You Just Got Your First Camera


Just want to say a big congratulations to anyone in possession of a new camera today. Make sure you check out my Learning Photography Posts, so you can start taking awesome photos.

petersouthlandphotography

Since I’m just starting this blog I’m going to make the assumption that you also just got your camera, so today I’m going to cover some tips and tricks for setting up and using your camera that I’ve noticed new photographers tend to overlook.

Focusing the Viewfinder

2014-09-25 21.45.37

One of the first things you should do with a new camera is make sure the viewfinder is properly focused for your eyes.  This is especially important if you’re like me and have fairly poor eyesight and ensures that what you’re seeing when composing your shot is also what your camera is seeing.  The focus adjustment is called the diopter and is generally located right next to the viewfinder as shown on my camera (Nikon D90) in the picture above.  One of the easiest ways to make sure the diopter on an optical viewfinder is properly focused is to turn the camera off, remove…

View original post 584 more words

2 thoughts on “So You Just Got Your First Camera

  1. I had my camera for a couple years before I knew the diopter existed. I know, that is fully my fault for not studying the manual. I recently took my very first photo lesson and asked the guy, “so, with my poor eyesight, how can I be sure I’m focusing properly?” And 5 seconds later I was all squared away. Now I need to scour your blog for answers to my other questions that I’m too lazy to read the manual for. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

