Weekly Photos – Hawaii 4


I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on the blog before, but I’m a bit of a foodie.  Going to Hawaii I was expecting amazing sites and OK food; I was so wrong about that last part.  Both were amazing, but the stand out food favorite was poke pronounced /pˈk/.  It’s basically raw fish that’s been marinated in various sauces and served over rice, some of our favorites were the spicy Ahi, wasabi ahi, and shoyu ahi.  

Luckily for us we were able to have poke at two of the best places on the island, both of which were pointed out by the folks from Pedals Bike Tours.  One is Ono Seafood. It was outside of Waikiki, a little over a mile walk from our hotel, but the walk was very much worth it.  The other great poke shop we stopped at was a convenience store on the north shore.  Since Honolulu is the only city on the island, the locals all shop at convenience stores.  Most of these stores are family run and usually have some house made food that they’re well known for.  So if you’re in the north shore, you should check one out.

Without further ado, delicious poke is below.

Check out some of my other photos from our Vacation in Hawaii.

DSC_2593_2

Photo Information

  • Date Taken: 05/13/2015 17:58:52
  • Camera: NIKON D90
  • Camera NIKON CORPORATION
  • Exposure: 1/200 s at f/4.0
  • ISO: 200
  • Lens: 35.0 mm f/1.8
  • Focal Length: 35.0 mm
  • Flash: Did not fire
  • Exposure Program: Aperture priority
  • Metering Mode: Center Weight

You can buy this photo here or browse through other photos in my gallery

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photos – Hawaii 4

  1. Want to go back to Hawaii 😦 I remember being at a luau, where they had what my wife and I refer to as “limitless tuna sashimi”. I remember driving up the west coast, stopping at a fruit stand, where I tried spiced mango and fresh dragon fruit. Really good, but the mango stained my fingers red. And sea kayaking! (would bring stronger sun block next time though)

    Your food photography is awesome. I always struggle with how much of the pile of food should be in focus. If I were taking the photo, I’d try to get the whole front pile in focus, and everything else a bit out of focus, but it never works out for me. Maybe I should just use f/11 and stick to photo-editing for that.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, for reading and enjoying my post.

      I also had a lack of sunscreen mishap, but while snorkeling.

      In general, I tend to be a big fan of the bokeh look at low apertures 1.8 – 2.8. But if I’m not sure how a shot will come out, I’ll sometimes take several, each at a different aperture.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Seattle – 1 | petersouthlandphotography

  3. Pingback: Seattle – 2 | petersouthlandphotography

  4. Pingback: Seattle – 3 | petersouthlandphotography

  5. Pingback: Vacation Video – Hawaii | petersouthlandphotography

  6. Having recently vacationed to Hawai’i as well, I smiled to see your experience with poke from Ono’s! The very definition of a local secret but so yummy! Great pics!

    Like

Leave a Reply

